SKINT TOURIST: West London

This week I am in West London, seeing what it has to offer for a cheap day out.

I started off this trip with a visit to the Museum of Brands, Packaging and Advertising. Some may think this sounds incredibly dull, I think I recall an eye roll from my sister when I told her this is where we were going. Oh how we were surprised. 

Museum of Brands, Packaging and Advertising
Museum of Brands, Packaging and Advertising

It was full of toys, packaging and posters from the 1800s to the present day.  I liked seeing really old disney toys. I thought it was also interesting to see food packaging that we still have today but seeing how it has developed over time. This is a place to go for the whole family as everyone will see something they recognise or had growing up.

The only downside was the price, It was £27 for three adults BUT looking back it should of been much cheaper. My sister and I could have bought student tickets for £7 with student ID and my mums could have received 50% off as she is a National Trust member, there may have been signs that we didn’t see and in my opinion ticket prices weren’t made clear by the person on the desk, nonetheless we didn’t mind paying £27 because we enjoyed it so much.

 

Notting Hill
Rainbow of houses on our walk to the museum. There was a lilac one I’d quite like to live in.

To get to the Museum of Brands, Packaging and Advertising we had to walk through the beautiful area of Notting Hill. I walked past many of the houses saying “I want that one!”

 

Rollling Stones
Rolling Stones tongue outside the Saatchi Gallery last summer.

My final stop is the Saatchi Gallery. I have visited twice and I love it. I first visited last summer and saw ‘The Rolling Stones Exhibitionism’ (which has now sadly ended) but visiting this time allowed me to see more of what it has to offer. It was in this gallery I found my favourite piece of art ever. 20:50 by Richard Wilson was a room full of oil. You smelt it before you saw it.  I use past tense as again sadly it has also gone from the gallery; it taught me that not all modern art will make sense, but one day it’ll just click.

20:50
20:50 at the Saatchi Gallery

 

 

Leave a Reply

